Only successful online transactions can be refunded.
Failed online transactions can be deleted.
Offline transactions can not be refunded, but can be deleted or edited.
To refund a transaction:
Access the transaction from a transaction report, click on the Actions menu, and select Refund Transaction.
You can also refund a donation from the transaction profile:
A transaction can only be refunded within the first 30 days of occurring. After that time, the option to refund a donation is not available.
If a transaction is refunded within 24 hours of occurring, it will be voided. If a transaction is refunded after 24 hours of occurring, it will be refunded (the difference here is minimal and only affects the donor's card statement).